FAQ Wagner Bits and Words e.U.

Are we conversant with ALL specialities of medicine and do we know ALL terms in every speciality?

No, we do not. However, we know people in nearly every medical speciality who can help us. And we do our best.
Avis car rentals had a very apt slogan in the nineteen-sixties:

We’re small, but we try hard! We wouldn’t say we’re small, but the second part of the slogan is absolutely true as far as we are concerned. We do try very hard to deliver the best of quality. A fact that is evidenced by our clients’ satisfaction with our services ...


Can a translation or review be done very fast – let’s say within 24 hours?

Basically yes. But our translators are usually booked two weeks in advance. Therefore, such urgent jobs are expensive. As a rule we charge a fee of 50% for such translations. We know it’s quite a high additional fee but the translator has to accommodate the job into his schedule and then usually works at night or during weekends in order to keep the deadline.

We’d much rather deliver the job within the usual term of delivery. We are not interested in doing urgent jobs because high-quality work takes time. However, in emergencies we are willing to cooperate with the client.

Whether it’s diagnosis, therapy or medical technology: a precise, professional translation is of prime importance. We translate texts from all specialities of medicine, e.g. surgery, endoscopy, laparoscopy, gastroscopy, coloscopy, ureteroscopy, ureterorenoscopy, laryngoscopy, angioscopy, arthroscopy, cystoscopy, ENT, orthopaedics, dentistry, dental technology, laser technology, radiology, CT, MRI..


What should you be careful of when you issue a job order for a translation? In other words – how can we best work together?

The time frame: A good translator can translate 10 pages a day. However, it would not be advisable to assign a time period of 1 day for a 10-page text. Good translators are usually in great demand, but can accommodate urgent jobs if necessary. It would be sensible to calculate 1 week for the translator. This will provide him with the necessary time to clarify any questions he/she may have and deliver a professional job.

The format: If your text is to be delivered in a specific format it would be sensible to send us your original text in the format of your choice and draw the translator’s attention to the fact that the format should be retained.

The target public: Who is going to read your paper or text? If this cannot be discerned from the content, please inform the translator: Will the text read by students? Colleagues? Pharmaceutical representatives? The industry?

Pay attention to linguistic style when writing your text. Ensure your original text is absolutely accurate in terms of content, does not contain any inconsistencies, and is expressive of the style you would like the translator to use in the target language. For instance: When you are planning to hold a lecture for students at the university, your original should be worded accordingly. Do not expect the translator to use “simpler language” or “more academic language”. His command of the language would be such that he may well be able to do so but it would interfere with the contents of your lecture and may even alter it to some extent.


Does a client automatically appear as a “reference” when he/she assigns us a translation job?

Not at all. All of the clients mentioned in our list of references have given us their explicit written consent to being cited in this list. We simply wouldn’t have enough space to mention all clients who employ our services or have employed our services in the past (even WITH their written consent). You therefore have no cause for concern.  We would never speak to a dentist about other dentists we work for. Of course, it occasionally happens that a client comes to know of these things on his own because some clients mention our name in their acknowledgement.

As far as we our concerned, we are committed to secrecy.
The only thing we tell a client from a specific speciality is that we have worked for his/her speciality and are familiar with common terms used in his/her specific field of medicine.


How do we deal with translators who approach us through the Internet? Do we employ their services?

No we do not. When asked to provide a translation into Spanish we never work with translators from South America or Cuba. We receive many such applications through the Internet. When we deliver a translation that bears the name of our company or is being provided by our company, we must be able to rely on the colleague who is translating the text for us and also take legal steps against the colleague in case of trouble.

We all know this cannot be done easily when the translator resides in Cuba or Honduras. Therefore we do not work with such colleagues. We work with translators from Austria and, in exceptional cases from other countries, only if we have their postal addresses, first name, and if applicable VAT number and company details.


How is a job done at Medical Translation?

You send us your text and mention the target language of translation as well as your desired date of delivery. Any additional information such as your target journal of publication, regulations provided by your publisher/journal would be very helpful.

  • We will send you an offer stating the price (price per line plus estimated final price) and delivery date.
  • You give your written consent (e-mail).
  • In case we have questions while doing the translation the questions will be listed and sent to you. We do NOT discuss questions on the phone but handle these efficiently – in writing.
  • You receive the translation at the fixed deadline. If we anticipate any delay we clarify the issue with you by e-mail beforehand.
  • We are available for any queries you may have concerning the translation.
  • Any revision of the text that may become necessary because of your questions or our questions will be done free of cost. We then send you a revised version.
  • We are very grateful for your feedback because it will help us in future projects.

What about competition from translation programs?

We have tested many translation programmes. However, translation in medicine is very specialised work. A good translation – of the quality we are accustomed to providing – cannot be done by a computer. As every expert knows, experts are needed in every field. One may well say that an expert cannot be replaced by any gadget or person.

We do use translation programs that save our vocabulary or accelerate the work process. But we do not deliver translations directly from translation programmes.

ContactWe look forward to your inquiry

Privacy policy

FAQ Wagner Bits and Words e.U.

Kennen wir uns in ALLEN Fachbereichen der Medizin aus und kennen wir ALLE Begriffe in jedem Fachbereich?

Nein, das tun wir nicht. Doch wir haben fast in jedem Fachbereich Ansprechpartner oder Kontakte, auf die wir zurückgreifen können. Und wir tun unser Bestes.

Es gibt einen sehr guten Slogan von Avis Autovermietung aus den Sechzigerjahren: We’re small, but we try hard! Wir würden nicht sagen, dass wir „small“ sind aber der zweite Teil des Satzes trifft auf uns komplett zu – wir versuchen, unser Bestes zu geben!

Und wie man sieht, wird es von vielen Kunden geschätzt.


Kann eine Übersetzung oder ein Review besonders schnell – sagen wir innerhalb 24 Stunden – gemacht werden?

Grundsätzlich ja. Unsere Übersetzer sind meistens 2 Wochen im Voraus ausgebucht. Bei Eilaufträgen versuchen wir es irgendwie in den Terminplan "einzuschieben" und arbeiten dann für gewöhnlich in der Nacht oder am Wochenende, um Ihren Termin einhalten zu können. Für diese dringenden Aufträge verrechnen wir in der Regel einen Eilzuschlag von 50%,

Gute Qualität braucht eben ihre Zeit. Darum ist es uns lieber, wenn wir die Arbeit in der üblichen Frist liefern können. Aber im Notfall sind wir bemüht, Ihre Wünsche zu berücksichtigen.

Ob Diagnostik, Therapie oder Medizintechnik, auf eine präzise, fachlich fundierte Übersetzung kommt es an. Texte aus sämtlichen Disziplinen werden ins Englische übersetzt, z.B. Chirurgie, Endoskopie, Laparoskopie, Gastroskopie, Koloskopie, Ureteroskopie, Ureterorenoskopie, Laryngoskopie, Angioskopie, Arthroskopie, Zystoskopie, HNO, Orthopädie, Zahnheilkunde, Zahntechnik, Lasertechnik, Röntgentechnik, CT, MRT.


Worauf müssen Sie als Auftraggeber achten, wenn Sie eine Übersetzung in Auftrag geben? In anderen Worten – wie können wir am besten zusammenarbeiten?

Der Zeitrahmen: Ein guter Übersetzer kann am Tag 10 Seiten übersetzen. Doch ist es nicht ratsam, einen Zeitrahmen von 1 Tag zu geben, wenn Sie 10 Seiten übersetzt brauchen. Denn gute Übersetzer sind in der Regel sehr ausgebucht, können aber trotzdem im Notfall etwas einschieben.
Es ist vernünftig, etwa 1 Woche für den Übersetzer einzuplanen. So kann er allfällige Rückfragen klären und Ihnen eine professionelle Arbeit liefern.

Das Format: Gibt es ein vorgegebenes Format für Ihre Arbeit, empfiehlt es sich, dieses gleich im Original einzubauen und den Übersetzer darauf aufmerksam zu machen, dass er das Format beibehalten soll.

Das Zielpublikum: Wer wird Ihre Arbeit/Ihren Text lesen? Falls dies nicht von vornherein schon ersichtlich ist, sagen Sie es dem Übersetzer. Sind es Studenten? Fachkollegen? Pharmavertreter? Die Industrie?

Achten Sie auf den korrekten Stil beim Formulieren Ihres Textes: Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr Original inhaltlich korrekt ist, keine Ungereimtheiten enthält, und ungefähr den Stil wiedergibt, in dem die Übersetzung verfasst sein soll. Zum Beispiel: Wenn Sie einen Vortrag vor Studenten an der Uni halten, sollte Ihr Original entsprechend formuliert sein. Erwarten Sie nicht vom Übersetzer, dass er die Übersetzung in „einfacherer Sprache“ oder in „gehobener Sprache“ formulieren soll. Das könnte er grundsätzlich schon (seine Sprachkenntnisse reichen dafür aus) aber es würde in den Inhalt Ihres Vortrages eingreifen und womöglich ändern.


Erscheint ein Kunde automatisch als „Referenz“, wenn er uns beauftragt?

Nein, auf gar keinen Fall. Alle Kunden, die sie in der Referenzliste sehen, haben uns schriftlich Ihr ausdrückliches  Einverständnis dazu gegeben. Würden wir alle Kunden anführen, die uns beschäftigen oder beschäftigt haben (auch MIT schriftlicher Genehmigung), würde der Platz dafür gar nicht reichen.

Sie brauchen sich also keine Gedanken zu machen. Wir erzählen, zum Beispiel, einem Zahnarztkunden gar nicht, für welche anderen Zahnärzte wir arbeiten. Wir halten uns an eine implizite Schweigepflicht, was dies betrifft.
Das Einzige, was wir einem Kunden aus einem bestimmten Fachbereich der Medizin sagen, ist, dass wir für seinen Fachbereich bereits gearbeitet haben und mit bestimmten Themen aus diesem Fachbereich vertraut sind.


Wie gehen wir mit Übersetzern aus dem Internet um? Beschäftigen wir sie?

Nein, das tun wir grundsätzlich nicht. Handelt es sich um eine Spanisch-Übersetzung, arbeiten wir niemals mit Übersetzern aus Südamerika oder Kuba oder ähnliches. Wir bekommen viele solche Bewerbungen übers Internet. Wenn wir eine Übersetzung unter dem Namen unserer Firma liefern, müssen wir uns nicht nur auf den Kollegen verlassen können, der für uns übersetzt, sondern auch rechtlich gegen ihn vorgehen können, wenn etwas schief geht.

Und wie wir wissen alle, dass es nicht leicht ist, gegen einen Kollegen etwas zu unternehmen, der in Kuba oder Honduras sitzt. Deshalb nehmen wir Abstand von solcher Zusammenarbeit. Wir arbeiten mit Kollegen aus Österreich, deren Postadressen, Vornamen und gegebenenfalls auch UID-Nummer und Firmenstatus wir kennen.


Wie läuft der Service bei Medical Translation ab?

  • Sie schicken uns Ihren Text mit Angabe der Zielsprache und Ihren gewünschten Liefertermin. Allfällige zusätzliche Informationen wie das Journal, in dem Sie publizieren wollen, sonstige Auflagen Ihres Verlegers/Journals sind sehr hilfreich.
  • Wir erstellen ein Angebot mit Angabe der Kosten (Zeilenpreis plus geschätzter Endpreis) und Liefertermin.
  • Sie erteilen den schriftlichen Auftrag per E-Mail. Falls es Fragen im Laufe der Übersetzung gibt, werden diese aufgelistet und Ihnen zur Beantwortung geschickt. Wir klären offene Fragen immer schriftlich, denn telefonische Rückfragen sind für beide Seiten zeitaufwändig.
  • Sie bekommen die Übersetzung zum genannten Termin.
  • Für Rückfragen stehen wir kostenlos zur Verfügung.
  • Allfällige Überarbeitungen des Textes, die sich durch unsere oder Ihre Fragen ergeben, führen wir kostenlos durch und schicken Ihnen eine neue Version.
  • Wir sind für Ihr Feedback sehr dankbar, denn es hilft uns bei zukünftigen Projekten mit Ihnen.

Wie sieht es mit Konkurrenz durch elektronische Übersetzungsprogramme aus?

Wir haben viele Übersetzungsprogramme getestet. Doch ist das Übersetzen – besonders im Bereiche der Medizin – sprachliche Feinarbeit. Eine gute Übersetzung – in der Qualität, in der wie sie liefern – ist von einem Computer gar nicht zu bewerkstelligen. Wie jeder Experte weiß, werden Experten immer und in jedem Bereich benötigt.

Man könnte fast sagen, sie sind durch nichts oder niemand zu ersetzen oder gar zu übertreffen. Deshalb ist die Frage für uns kein Thema.

Kontaktformular Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage

Datenschutz